Now that I have a bicycle, it’s time to start learning the pattern of one-way streets here, as well as another new language.  So far I have learned that if you are driving through León, you can say any of the following simply by honking your horn as often as you like,

“Hi, I am a taxi and I am available!”

“I am not stopping at this intersection so you better yield to me.”

“Hey, you pedestrian in the street (or bicycle, pedicab, stray dog, horse and cart, vendor, etc), get out of my way!”

“Hola Amigo, how are you!”

“I’m passing you on the left (on a two lane road), make sure you notice me!”

“Hey there, hot stuff!”

Keep in mind that with minimal traffic lights and signage, this is a very important language to learn. I will keep you all updated as I learn new vocabulary in this delicate Nicaraguan language of honking.

Bikes and cars share a busy street by the San Juan market

Bikes and cars share a busy street by the San Juan market