If that’s possible in 100 degree high humidity weather.  I knew I would be coming back from temperate climates and high altitudes in Mexico and Guatemala to the hottest month of the year in León, but how do you prepare yourself for that?

The Fulbright Enhancement Seminar was more than I ever imagined it would be, and I had high expectations.   Imagine 25 engaging presentations given by motivated, intelligent and attractive young people crammed into three days, interrupted only to tour a beautiful colonial city or eat amazing food at five star restaurants.  That’s what I’m exhausted from.  On the plane coming back to Nicaragua yesterday I wrote notes the whole time – things that inspired me about other peoples projects, ways that I could change the focus of my time here to benefit the institutions I am working with.   But now that I’m in this sauna of a city I find that mostly I am tired, and yearning for the company of the motivated people who I connected so quickly and easily with.

I am so grateful to Fulbright for hosting us in Antigua, Guatemala.  What a beautiful city.  Antigua is an unusual place.  At one time it held a convent for every sect of nuns in the country, and it is filled with the ruins of churches and convents destroyed by earthquakes and time.  It is also an international hub, with fancy restaurants and hotels, art galleries, and international themed bars.  We ate Thai, Mexican, Spanish, and Italian food, danced to live Salsa music, lounged in a hookah bar savoring excellent Guatemalan rum, and ended up at the end of our last night in an Irish bar filled with Guiness posters.   It’s not so much my style to travel in that way, but although I don’t feel like I can talk much about Guatemala after having spent three days in Antigua, it certainly gave me a glimpse into a beautiful and dynamic culture and country that I look forward to returning to some day.

Fulbright Grantees Adriana, Dana, Michelle and I at a convent in Antigua

Fulbright Grantees Adriana, Dana, Michelle and I at a convent in Antigua

Breakfast at Finca Filadelfia, a coffee farm and resort

Breakfast at Finca Filadelfia, a coffee farm and resort

