Happy Earth Day, a little late but I was busy doing earthy things like biking around town and studying agroecology.

I thought I´d share a side project I´ve gotten into here.  I recently met a retired American man who has been living in Granada for several years and just decided to move to León.  We met on a bus to Managua and after talking for the entire ride it was clear that we see the world through similar lense.  He has a bunch of projects up his sleeve that I find very interesting, one of which is finding someone in Nicaragua to start a plastic lumber business to get some of the plastic off the streets and into profitable construction business.  So now I walk around León with a peice of plastic wood, spreading the news to anyone who cares to listen that we are looking for someone interested in a start up business, which David, my American friend, is willing to help finance.

Trash logged Rio Chiquito

Trash logged Rio Chiquito

As you can see from this photo of the Rio Chiquito, or may remember from a previous post, recycling is something that is desperately needed here.  Housing is also in high  as the population here is growing quickly, and there are a myriad of housing projects in León.  I´m hoping that these two needs might both be met with a recycled construction material.

