It’s now raining in León nearly every day, which is doing absolutely wonderful things for farmers as well as the afternoon temperature here (I was actually chilled the other evening after showering).

I’ve heard that “it doesn’t rain but it pours” applies literally here.  There have been some nice gentle showers here, but more often than not the rain is royally announced with giant cracks of thunder and then dumps una tromba de agua, or an absolute wall of water.  The city streets, which are a patchwork of adoquines (like cobblestones, octagonal cinderblocks) and pavement, don’t do a very good job of absorbing water , and there are certain streets that fill up with water and quickly become rivers.

IMG_0198

The corner by the supermarket Salman is one such street.  I was trapped for forty five minutes in the supermarket until the water receded enough to reveal the sidewalks.  The water rose rapidly; I was only in the supermarket for about fifteen minutes, and it wasn’t raining when I went in.  The current was so strong that it pulled a motorcyle around and nearly swept away a young kid who messing around and trying to cross.

IMG_0202

Last week I tried taking a taxi about twelve blocks to a friends house during a chaparrón.  We left my house and got about halfway there when we reached a road that had such high water and strong current that the taxi wouldn’t even try to cross it.  I could feel the waves beating up against the floor of the taxi.  We turned around and went back to my house.  Now I understand how things here stop completely for rain – it isn’t just that Nicas are allergic to getting wet, it does actually stop you from getting where you want sometimes!

